Caramelized Onion Sauce Over Pasta

I got this recipe out of the Moosewood cookbook. It is an amazing cookbook for vegetarians. I am not however a vegetarian but instead a dedicated omnivore. I eat whatever sounds good, looks good, and even things that might be questionable. I love caramelized onions but I have never done it in this quantity before. I tweaked the recipe as usual to suit what we had in the house.

Ingredients:

  • 1⁄2 colive oil
  • 6 c spring onions, chopped
  • 1⁄2 t salt
  • 1 c dry white whine
  • 1⁄4 lb arugula or spinach, stemmed and minced
  • 1 c feta or chevre cheese
  • 3⁄4 lb penne or fusili pasta
  • 1 c chopped walnuts, toasted
  •  parmasean to top

Heat olive oil in a large skillet or saute pan. Add onions, and saute over medium heat for 10-15 minutes. Add salt, lower heat, and cook for 10 minutes. Add white wine, turn heat back up to medium, and simmer uncovered for 15 minutes.

Start boiling water for pasta. Add chopped greens to onion sauce, stir and cook for about 5 minutes. Stir in crumbled cheese, and turn heat to low while pasta cooks.

After cooked pasta is drained add it to the sauce, and stir briefly in pan before serving. Sprinkle with walnuts and parmasean, and serve.

_________________

I didn’t have any arugula, so I had some mustard greens that my best friend brought from her garden. I also didn’t use a half cup of olive oil but instead a tsp on bacon grease from this morning’s breakfast sandwiches. I don’t ever use a half cup of olive oil for anything except for bath products. I also didn’t have white wine so I was forced to use red. It doesn’t taste the same but it was either that or tequila….not an option :D.

 

Verdict:

I thought this was very very good. I didn’t like the mustard greens because they were weird but after picking the majority of them out, I was able to enjoy the rest of the meal. Wonderful.

For a variation of the recipe, the picture above came from http://www.trinigourmet.com/index.php/caramelized-onion-sauce/

1 Comment

  1. July 11, 2011 at 7:30 pm

    […] Caramelized Onion Sauce Over Pasta (hgijanto.wordpress.com) […]


Leave a Reply

