New Dehydrator New Possibilities

So my mother and only neighbor just bought a dehydrator which I am to share with her. This is an industrial size commercial dehydrator and it has something like 6 very large trays. I have always loved the machines because they make one of the most delicious primal things: jerky. However, my mother brought out a thing from my past that I had forgotten and never realized that I love. As a child we had a smaller dehydrator that somehow got lost in a move or broke or something…not sure. Anyways, when we had the thing, we would make jerky by the lb and for some reason my mother always thought to make dried tomatoes. I always thought they were weird and tasteless (I probably never actually ate them).
On a trip today with my father, he produced a small tinfoil satchel of jerky for me as well as a pouch of the small dried red chip like creations my mother had spent all night on. I tenatively reached in and popped half of one in my mouth. I must not have ever tried them because what I got was a flavorful crunchy and mouthwatering treat. I was fascinated by these simple little creations. All they were was roma tomatoes, salt and pepper that had somehow dried up into a concentrated burst of tomato flavor. They were amazing enough that I was more saddened by the end of the package of tomato than I was of the end of the package of jerky. By the end of the day, I have probably eaten 10 tomatoes which all in all is not bad but also not great. I cannot make a habit of this but I have also just bought a huge bag of roma tomatoes for my mother to dry. I am getting so excited for more!

3 Comments

  1. April 12, 2011 at 4:50 am

    these sound so good! you will have to let me try some next time i see you….also, 10 tomatoes?…hehe, i hope your stomach processes that fiber in a friendly manner, otherwise….oh lordy i fell sorry for you tomorrow!! 🙂 heee!

  2. April 12, 2011 at 4:51 am

    feel. not fell. stupid typos.

  3. hgijanto said,

    April 12, 2011 at 2:28 pm

    After I had drank something, my stomach felt fuller than I had in a long time….I hope it doesn’t do me in! 😀


Leave a Reply

