And now for something completely different.

So I have to admit that I have never been a jam or jelly person.  I just don’t go in for sweets. Never really have. Give me salty pickles, or chips or crunchy stuff and I am a happy woman. However, with the nesting phase of my pregnancy in full tilt I must say that I am a but dumbfounded by my want for learning all about making jam and jelly.

I decided to go with one of the stranger jam recipes that i found and I will be damned if it wasn’t great. I just had my first piece of toast and jam in probably 15 years. Banana Nut Bread Jam. With is delicious sweetness and small bits of walnuts and spice, it makes for a wonderful compliment to any bread. It could also go in the center of a tart or cookie. It is the quickest jam ever. It took about a half of an hour total to make (closer to 45 min with prep and baby stuff.) However, it is soooo good and makes quite a bit of jam.

Here is the recipe. Let me know what you think of it.

  • 10 ripe bananas, pureed(need 3 cups)
  • 1 Tb. lemon juice
  • 4 c. granulated sugar
  • 1/2 c. brown sugar
  • 1 1/2 c. toasted walnuts, finely chopped
  • 1 box pectin, Sure- Jell
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp nutmeg
  • Dash of Clove
  • Mix bananas, walnuts, lemon juice, spices, and powdered pectin in a large sauce pan. I ended up using the biggest one I had because of how much it made. Stir while bringing to a full boil. All at once add the two sugars. Stirring continuously, heat until full boiling boil or until it begins to really set. Continue to heat 1 minute. Fill jars to 1/4 inch of top seat with 2 – part lid and ring. Boiling water bath for 10 minutes. makes 8 half pint jars or 4 pint jars of jam.

    Leave a Reply

