Greek Fries

One of my favorite restaurants is My Big Fat Greek Restaurant. It is well decorated with an interesting menu but the thing that draws me to it is the greek fries. I have never been much of a sweet person so when I heard about these tangy salty versions of the common french fry, I got excited. I love tangy and salty so they seemed a good match. The result was the most amazing fry experience. French fries that are covered in feta cheese, a lemon dijon sauce and greek spices. There is no need for any other condiment. They are delicious.

I tried to make them at home a couple of times and I have finally made a very close effort. Take an ordinary bag of french fries or make them homemade if you prefer. Spritz them with lemon juice prior to baking them or after you fry them. Then sprinkle them with herbs such as oregano and garlic (again prior to bake or after you fry). After they are done to your specifications, mix about 3 tsp of lemon juice with 1/2 cup dijon mustard, garlic, pepper and whatever else you like to taste. Sprinkle feta cheese on the fries and either allow the hot grease to soften the feta or put back into the oven for about 2 minutes at 425 degrees. Put into a condiment bottle and squirt the mustard all over the fries as you would ketchup or whatever else you like. Some recipes call for a cream base to the mustard such as sour cream or mayo but I don’t, it would make it go further but I am the only one that eats it in quantity so whatever. Then just sit back and enjoy. Mmmmm

1 Comment

  1. Charlene said,

    July 22, 2010 at 2:56 am

    Yum!! Those sound delicious.


Leave a Reply

