Greek Salad Dressing

Not all recipes can be total success stories. Last night, as pregnant women sometimes do, I was craving some veggies and Greek salad dressing. I looked through my copious amounts of cookbooks and found one that sounded really simple and did not require the use of a blender. It contained pepperoncini juice, olive oil, red wine vinegar, salt, pepper and a bit of basil. Now already looking at this recipe I can envision that I will enjoy the tangy vinegary taste of it however, I also know that Greeks enjoy basil but prefer oregano. I mixed a few different herbs into it such as fresh herbs from the garden and looked at it. It looked like muddled pepper juice. I smelled it. The proportions for the olive oil according to this recipe seemed out of sorts. It was a half a cup of juice to a dash of oil. I am always about trying to be healthy but this is a salad dressing. To my mind, it should have been 1/2 c to 1/4 cup ratio. It also tasted like it needed red wine instead of red wine vinegar. The vinegar from the juice was plenty and flavorful to not require more vinegar. After a while of fiddling with it, I finally put it into a jar and placed it into the fridge to figure what to do with it later when I had more patience. I grabbbed a bottle of Wishbone Italian Dressing and went about my night, slightly saddened at my lost efforts. Better luck next time.

Leave a Reply

