Gourmet Burger and Fresh Guacamole

I am always a sucker for a good burger. I went to the market to pick out my provisions. 80/20 ground beef, romaine lettuce, hot house tomatoes, swiss cheese, and some sesame kaiser rolls. I took my horde home and then mixed my beef with a liberal amount of Montreal Steak Seasoning. I then made the patties and set them out as I prepped the rest. My friend Victor came by with his amazing guacamole. This guacamole differs a great deal from mine as I was to find out.

Victor’s Guacamole: (in approximation. I never really measure the ingredients for my guac so please make adjustments for taste)

2-4 ripe avocados
2-6 Herdez jalapenos
2-3 tsp jalapeno juice
2-3 tsp lime juice

Garlic Salt
Reg Salt

Mash the avacados until smooth. Mince the jalapenos and mix the other ingredients together. Season with the salts to taste.

This guacamole is wonderful as either a condiment or snack. It goes great on burgers, french fries or as Victor does simply wrapped in fresh tortillas. I love to eat this with fresh duros or Mexican chips.

Duros (also known as pasta para duros, duritos, durros, pasta para durito, Mexican wagon wheels or pin wheels) are a popular Mexican crunchy snack made of puffed wheat.

When cooked, they have a light, airy consistency similar to chicharróns. Although both foods contain comparable amounts of fat, chicharróns contain more protein while duros are mainly carbohydrates.

Duros are usually sold by street vendors in Mexican American neighborhoods, parks and after Mass at some Spanish speaking Catholic churches. Duros can also be purchased in their uncooked pasta-like form at many Mexican grocery stores.

Leave a Reply

